Common Core State Standards

Education standards help to describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject, organized and separated into the grade levels. In California, these standards for kindergarten through high school are decided by the State Board of Education.

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) were developed through a state-led initiative to establish consistent and clear education standards for English language arts and mathematics that would better prepare students for success in college, career, and the competitive global economy. The California State Board of Education (SBE) adopted the standards on August 2, 2010, and a number of states across the nation have adopted these standards. This allows students to receive an effective education even if they change schools or move to a different state. Designed by teachers, parents, and education experts, the CCSS will help prepare students to succeed in college and the workplace.

The Common Core focuses on developing critical thinking, problem solving, and analytical skills needed to be successful. These also provide a way for teachers to measure student progress throughout the school year and ensure that the students are well on their journey to success.

The standards are:

1. Research and evidence based
2. Clear, understandable, and consistent
3. Aligned with college and career expectations
4. Based on rigorous content and application of knowledge in higher-thinking skills
5. Built into the strengths and lessons of state standards
6. Informed by other top-performing countries to prepare students for success in the global economy and society

To find out more about the adoption process in California of the CCSS, please visit the website here.

This three minute video provided by the Council of Great City Schools explains how the CCSS will help students achieve and succeed in education and beyond.